No Ridin’ to Hyden

I had a full-on week, culminating with a drive to Bruce Rock on Thursday evening for a meeting.  I drove home again on Friday evening.  I was back by 8 but pretty tired, even for an old geezer. I was asleep by 8.15.  Surprised next morning to find I had slept in until ten am.

There was a ride to Hyden Saturday, and I was to have joined the lads on it.  But, for the first time, I was strangely reluctant to fire up the Silver Lady and take her on a ride.  I did not really feel up to it, and I could not muster any enthusiasm at all.  It feels very odd for me to choose to stay home and do the vacuuming over riding a motorcycle through the countryside.  Yet my head was telling me that would be the thing to do.   I usually trust my intuition in such a situation.  It has often proved a mistake when I did not.   Perhaps my brain unconsciously processed some data and concluded riding a long way that day is not a good idea.  Thinking about it, the Silver Lady is due for a new rear tyre soon, and it looked as if it may rain.  Rain after well over three months drought could mean some nasty slippery roads where the road trains haul.

Combine that risk with feeling a bit run down, and a slight loss of attention at the wrong moment could be painful.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Australia, Motorcycling, Motorcycling, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

