Planning the Trip to Hall’s Creek

The Silver Lady has a new rear tyre and has been fully serviced in readiness for the three thousand kilometre ride next week.  She feels as eager to go as I. As I will be camping out on the way, and as I want to be well rested and alert, I gave a lot of thought to my sleep problem.  I learned that a battery to power the CPAP machine for just two or three nights would cost me about $580.00. However for just $140.00, I bought a transformer that will power my schnozzle nozzle from a standard 12v battery. I tried it out using an old dying car battery from my Camry that I replaced earlier this year.  I have kept it charge against a possible emergency. The system works fine.  But I was not enthusiastic about lugging an old car battery on the back of my bike. So I bought a small motorcycle battery, less than a fifth of the mass of the car battery, and which will fit into one of the side pockets of my pack.  I also bought a solar panel, which, mounted on my swag, will trickle charge the battery as I ride.  One thing I am expecting is plenty of sun.

The battery cost $70.00. The solar panel $45.00.  So for less than half the cost of a ResMed battery I have rigged a system that should give me similar or better results.

I hope.

I shall report in due course, with pictures.

 

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Australia, Motorcycling, Motorcycling, Travel, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Planning the Trip to Hall’s Creek

  1. Alan says:

    Reblogged this on Hodophilia.

Leave a Reply

